top of page

"...and I have more insurance"

In 1994, my then-husband and I moved to Monticello, Ark. As is required to establish residency, I went into the DMV to get an Arkansas driver's license. I walked in with my Texas license, my birth certificate and marriage certificate ('cause I hadn't changed my name in the six months I'd been married).

At the time, Arkansas law required that because I was from out-of-state, I had to take the written portion of the driver's test. The lady behind the counter held out a handbook and asked me to come back when I had studied. I said, "I'll take the test now."

"Without studying for it?"

"Well, yeah. I had the test in Texas already, and most of it's common sense," I replied.

She looked at me askance and handed me the test, giving me 30 minutes to complete.

Ten minutes later, I waltzed back up to the counter, handed it over then sat down to wait a bit. I was called to the counter again and asked, "Are you sure you didn't study for this?"

I had gotten a perfect score, and she didn't understand how.

Fast forward about 12 years. The insurance carrier that represented the company I was working for required all of us who drove for company business take a defensive driver's class. It was schedule first thing in the morning for four straight days. I had a schedule and loads of work to do. I showed up, signed in sat until my first appointment, then left. (That means I was in that class about a total of 2 hours.)

The last day, the test was given. I showed up, took the test and left. Two hours later I went back for my results and certificate. Out of 40 or so folks who took that test, only four got perfect scores. (Can you guess my name?)

Here's the thing ... I paid attention the FIRST time.

Do I necessarily follow all the rules? (Yeah, okay, if you say so.)

Driver's tests aren't "What would I do?" Most of the time, it's common sense. You know, green means go; red means stop. Look both ways before pulling into an intersection. Duh.

Bad driving isn't just about skill. It's about understanding and acknowledging that there are other drivers on the road at the same time as you, most likely, if you're in town, about three feet away. (And the way some folks pull up behind one, about six inches.)

I asked my mother one time why she drove so slowly and why she was looking everywhere but the road (it seemed). She told me that she sees everything that's going on around her. (Consequently, I drive more like my dad. Well, more like Dad used to drive. 'Cause you know I love taking shots at Dad in my blog! ... nothing I wouldn't say to his face, mind.)

When a compact car (me) is parked between two SUVs -- which, by the way, are wide enough to go over the parking lines on both sides of them -- I CAN'T SEE YOU coming up the aisle from either direction. I nudge back very carefully. I know I can be seen with my back-up lights on, gently pulling out of the space, because I can see them backing out of spaces when the situation is reversed.

What I ask of you who are guilty of not paying attention ... PAY ATTENTION, honk your horn and SLOW DOWN. Give me time to stop, or if you're feeling generous, wait for me to finish backing out. Swerving around me could cause an accident with a third vehicle or even a fourth.

All drivers have to do is pay attention. Remember the rules of the road. Want to know where soaring insurance rates come from? Want to know why folks feel safer in SUVs and are willing to pay untoward amounts of money in gas?

Related Posts

See All
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page