top of page

Screw you, I'm from Texas

When I was 22, I moved with my exhusband out of Texas. It wasn't until that time that I first encountered prejudice against me because I am a Texan.

That's right. Folks did not like me, because I am Texan.

I learned not to talk about how much I loved it. I learned not to bring it up unless somebody asked and provided only monosyllabic answers to, "Where you from?"

Later, I garnered the courage to ask folks why didn't they like Texas? "Because they're rude." Uh-huh. And how's that? "If you're not from Texas they treat you like you're stupid." Well, by Texas standards, you might be.


At this point, I generally ask them if they were on vacation or if they were living there temporarily, what town they were in, and so forth. This is to get a feel for the experience they had. The small-town Texas experience and the big-city Texas experience are two different things.

Most of the time, folks were vacationing. And after talking with them about their particular experiences, I finally hit on what it is that folks don't like about it, whether they're willing to admit it or not: IT'S NOT THEIR HOME. They go to Texas expecting everything and everybody to act exactly the same as the folks back home as though they were dressed up as a Mariachi or ranch hand, like it's a Halloween costume contest.

Texans aren't any more or less rude than anyone else in the United States. If you're polite, they'll be polite. If you're rude, they'll be rude. If you don't put forth an effort to get to know them, they won't put forth any effort either. It makes no difference to Texans – you'll be leaving, and they know it. Your experience is up to you, not them.

Think that's indifferent?

If you're in the middle of San Antonio having dinner at the River Walk, and some yahoo decides to open fire on the crowd, what do you think will happen? That yahoo is going to get his dumb-ass shot, because 85-plus percent of the patrons, employees and passers-by of that restaurant YOU'RE EATING IN are packing. Those indifferent, rude Texans just saved your judgemental ass. And they won't expect thanks for it, either.

So, to those of you who don't like Texas for some idiotic, judgmental, didn't-meet-your-expectations reason, please tell a non-Native Texan. I'll guarantee it won't make a difference to me or to any other Texan. And if you're not living there, you have nothing to complain about. If you don't want to go there ever again, fine, then don't. No native really cares.

And when I visit your state, I'll provide you the courtesy of not expecting everyone and everything to be like my home, and I'll never expect anywhere to be anything like Texas ever has been, is, or will be. Because it's just not possible for anywhere else to be that fabulous.

Related Posts

See All
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page